Carnegie Medal
Current Shortlist
Recent Shortlist
Recent Winners
Full List of Winners
Award Criteria

70 Years Celebration


The Carnegie Medal
Full List of Winners

Please note that before 2007 the year refers to when the book was published rather than when the medal was awarded i.e. the 2005 winner was announced and the medal presented in July 2006.

2015 Tanya Landman, Buffalo Soldier, Walker Books

2014 Kevin Brooks, The Bunker Diary, Puffin Books

2013 Sally Gardner, Maggot Moon, Hot Key Books

2012 Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls, Walker Books

2011 Patrick Ness, Monsters of Men, Walker Books

2010 Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book, Bloomsbury

2009 Siobhan Dowd, Bog Child, David Fickling

2008 Philip Reeve, Here Lies Arthur, Scholastic

2007 Meg Rosoff, Just in Case, Penguin

2005 Mal Peet, Tamar, Walker Books

2004 Frank Cottrell Boyce, Millions, Macmillan

2003 Jennifer Donnelly, A Gathering Light, Bloomsbury Children's Books

2002 Sharon Creech, Ruby Holler, Bloomsbury Children's Books

2001 Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, Doubleday

2000 Beverley Naidoo, The Other Side of Truth, Puffin

1999 Aidan Chambers, Postcards From No Man's Land, Bodley Head

1998 David Almond, Skellig, Hodder Children's Books

1997 Tim Bowler, River Boy, OUP

1996 Melvin Burgess, Junk, Andersen Press

1995 Philip Pullman, His Dark Materials: Book 1 Northern Lights, Scholastic

1994 Theresa Breslin, Whispers in the Graveyard, Methuen

1993 Robert Swindells, Stone Cold, H Hamilton

1992 Anne Fine, Flour Babies, H Hamilton

1991 Berlie Doherty, Dear Nobody, H Hamilton

1990 Gillian Cross, Wolf, OUP

1989 Anne Fine, Goggle-eyes, H Hamilton

1988 Geraldine McCaughrean, A Pack of Lies, OUP

1987 Susan Price, The Ghost Drum, Faber

1986 Berlie Doherty, Granny was a Buffer Girl, Methuen

1985 Kevin Crossley-Holland, Storm, Heinemann

1984 Margaret Mahy, The Changeover, Dent

1983 Jan Mark, Handles, Kestrel

1982 Margaret Mahy, The Haunting, Dent

1981 Robert Westall, The Scarecrows, Chatto & Windus

1980 Peter Dickinson, City of Gold, Gollancz

1979 Peter Dickinson, Tulku, Gollancz

1978 David Rees, The Exeter Blitz, H Hamilton

1977 Gene Kemp, The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler, Faber

1976 Jan Mark, Thunder and Lightnings, Kestrel

1975 Robert Westall, The Machine Gunners, Macmillan

1974 Mollie Hunter, The Stronghold, H Hamilton

1973 Penelope Lively, The Ghost of Thomas Kempe, Heinemann

1972 Richard Adams, Watership Down, Rex Collings

1971 Ivan Southall, Josh, Angus & Robertson

1970 Leon Garfield & Edward Blishen, The God Beneath the Sea, Longman

1969 Kathleen Peyton, The Edge of the Cloud, OUP

1968 Rosemary Harris, The Moon in the Cloud, Faber

1967 Alan Garner, The Owl Service, Collins

1966 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

1965 Philip Turner, The Grange at High Force, OUP

1964 Sheena Porter, Nordy Bank, OUP

1963 Hester Burton, Time of Trial, OUP

1962 Pauline Clarke, The Twelve and the Genii, Faber

1961 Lucy M Boston, A Stranger at Green Knowe, Faber

1960 Dr I W Cornwall, The Making of Man, Phoenix House

1959 Rosemary Sutcliff, The Lantern Bearers, OUP

1958 Philipa Pearce, Tom's Midnight Garden, OUP

1957 William Mayne, A Grass Rope, OUP

1956 C S Lewis, The Last Battle, Bodley Head

1955 Eleanor Farjeon, The Little Bookroom, OUP

1954 Ronald Welch (Felton Ronald Oliver), Knight Crusader, OUP

1953 Edward Osmond, A Valley Grows Up

1952 Mary Norton, The Borrowers, Dent

1951 Cynthia Harnett, The Woolpack, Methuen

1950 Elfrida Vipont Foulds, The Lark on the Wing, OUP

1949 Agnes Allen, The Story of Your Home, Faber

1948 Richard Armstrong, Sea Change, Dent

1947 Walter De La Mare, Collected Stories for Children

1946 Elizabeth Goudge, The Little White Horse, University of London Press

1945 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

1944 Eric Linklater, The Wind on the Moon, Macmillan

1943 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

1942 'BB' (D J Watkins-Pitchford), The Little Grey Men, Eyre & Spottiswoode

1941 Mary Treadgold, We Couldn't Leave Dinah, Cape

1940 Kitty Barne, Visitors from London, Dent

1939 Eleanor Doorly, Radium Woman, Heinemann

1938 Noel Streatfeild, The Circus is Coming, Dent

1937 Eve Garnett, The Family from One End Street, Muller

1936 Arthur Ransome, Pigeon Post, Cape