Greenaway Medal
Current Shortlist
Recent Shortlist
Recent Winners
Full List of Winners
Award Criteria

70 Years Celebration


The Kate Greenaway Medal
Full List of Winners

Please note that before 2007 the year refers to when the book was published rather than when the medal was awarded i.e. the 2005 winner was announced and the medal presented in July 2006.

2015 William Grill, Shackleton's Journey, Flying Eye

2014 Jon Klassen, This Is Not My Hat, Walker Books

2013 Levi Pinfold, Black Dog, Templar

2012 Jim Kay, A Monster Calls, Walker Books

2011 Grahame Baker-Smith, FArTHER, Templar

2010 Freya Blackwood, Harry & Hopper, Scholastic

2009 Catherine Rayner, Harris Find His Feet, Little Tiger Press

2008 Emily Gravett, Little Mouse’s Big Book of Fears, Macmillan

2007 Mini Grey, The Adventures of the Dish and the Spoon, Jonathan Cape

2005 Emily Gravett, Wolves, Macmillan

2004 Chris Riddell, Jonathan Swift's “Gulliver”, Walker

2003 Shirley Hughes, Ella's Big Chance, The Bodley Head

2002 Bob Graham, Jethro Byrde- Fairy Child, Walker Books

2001 Chris Riddell, Pirate Diary, Walker Books

2000 Lauren Child, I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato, Orchard Books

1999 Helen Oxenbury, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Walker Books

1998 Helen Cooper, Pumpkin Soup, Doubleday

1997 P J Lynch, When Jessie Came Across the Sea, Walker Books

1996 Helen Cooper, The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed, Doubleday

1995 P J Lynch, The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey, Walker Books

1994 Gregory Rogers, Way Home, Andersen Press

1993 Alan Lee, Black Ships Before Troy, Frances Lincoln

1992 Anthony Browne, Zoo, Julia MacRae

1991 Janet Ahlberg, The Jolly Christmas Postman, Heinemann

1990 Gary Blythe, The Whales' Song, Hutchinson

1989 Michael Foreman, War Boy: a Country Childhood, Pavilion

1988 Barbara Firth, Can't You Sleep Little Bear?, Walker Books

1987 Adrienne Kennaway, Crafty Chameleon, Hodder & Stoughton

1986 Fiona French, Snow White in New York, OUP

1985 Juan Wijngaard, Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady, Walker Books

1984 Errol Le Cain, Hiawatha's Childhood, Faber

1983 Anthony Browne, Gorilla, Julia MacRae

1982 Michael Foreman, Long Neck and Thunder Foot and Sleeping Beauty and Other Favourite Fairy Tales, Kestrel and Gollancz

1981 Charles Keeping, The Highwayman, OUP

1980 Quentin Blake, Mr Magnolia, Cape

1979 Jan Pienkowski, The Haunted House, Heinemann

1978 Janet Ahlberg, Each Peach Pear Plum, Kestrel

1977 Shirley Hughes, Dogger, Bodley Head

1976 Gail E Haley, The Post Office Cat, Bodley Head

1975 Victor Ambrus, Horses in Battle and Mishka, OUP

1974 Pat Hutchins, The Wind Blew, Bodley head

1973 Raymond Briggs, Father Christmas, H Hamilton

1972 Krystyna Turska, The Woodcutter's Duck, H Hamilton

1971 Jan Pienkowski, The Kingdom under the Sea, Cape

1970 John Burningham, Mr Gumpy's Outing, Cape

1969 Helen Oxenbury, The Quangle Wangle's hat and The Dragon of an Ordinary Family, Heinemann

1968 Pauline Baynes, Dictionary of Chivalry, Longman

1967 Charles Keeping, Charlotte and the Golden Canary, OUP

1966 Raymond Briggs, Mother Goose Treasury, H Hamilton

1965 Victor Ambrus, The Three Poor Tailors, OUP

1964 C W Hodges, Shakespeare's Theatre, OUP

1963 John Burningham, Borka: the Adventures of a Goose with No Feathers, Cape

1962 Brian Wildsmith, A.B.C, OUP

1961 Antony Maitland, Mrs. Cockle's Cat, Constable

1960 Gerald Rose, Old Winkle and the Seagulls, Faber

1959 William Stobbs, Kashtanka and A Bundle of Ballads, OUP

1958 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

1957 V H Drummond, Mrs Easter and the Storks, Faber

1956 Edward Ardizzone, Tim All Alone, OUP

1955 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable