Shadowing home | Group Leaders Login to edit your group home page    

Chobham Academy Book Group
40 Cheering lane, London
Group status: The annual Balloon Debate took place on Monday 19th June at TWGSB, and it was a great morning, as usual! Congratulations to the winners of the debate prize, the team Salt to the Sea (1) & to everyone who took part in the process with such enthusiasm.

One of the weekly groups

We had 3 groups this year, meeting on Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Thursdays. We had some really committed readers, racing through the shortlist in record time & some fascinating discussions. The librarians are already looking forward to next year's Shadowing programme!

TBA

Beck by George
Mal Peet's Beck is a novel that takes you on a journey. This journey is enticing and choc-full of emotion. It will make you think about racism, abuse . . .
read full review


Wolf Hollow by Radu
This is a very exciting book, set in WWII. I like this book because it's intriguing and it isn't a story set in a city where there is poverty everywhe . . .
read full review

Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth by Louie
This Book is an exciting book, with a misleading cover. It looks like a book for a person of five years of age. However, it has a lot of twists and tu . . .
read full review

Salt to the Sea by Lorcan
Salt to the Sea, I believe is a great book. It reminds you of the forgotten tragedies that happened in German territory instead of our own. Because of . . .
read full review

Railhead by Michael
Railhead is a dream for fans of Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke and Orson Scott Card's work. Railhead is set around a thousand years into the future . . .
read full review

Salt to the Sea by Noah
Salt to the Sea is a historical book by Ruta Sepeteys, an author famous for writing accurate books. It shows WW2 from multiple perspectives including . . .
read full review

The Smell of Other People's Houses by Michael
The Smell of Other People's Houses is about different people from Alaska that are joined together some way or another. There is one major gripe I have . . .
read full review

Railhead by Rohan
I did not enjoy this book as the genre is not one that I would usually read because I prefer a book that might happen in real life. I do not like fant . . .
read full review

Beck by Rohan
This book is about a black boy called Beck who is an orphan. First he is sent to a religious institute but soon leaves. He then gets taken in by anoth . . .
read full review

Railhead by Ethan
I found Railhead very cool. It was set in a futuristic era with new tech featuring Zen starling as the main character. The adventure of Zen Starling . . .
read full review

Beck by David
I found Beck really interesting because it makes you wonder how coloured people were treated in the past and how difficult it was for people to foster . . .
read full review

Wolf Hollow by Arthur
As soon as I started reading Wolf Hollow, I couldn't put it down. I throughly enjoyed this book throughout. Wolf Hollow is a book set in WW2 and is ab . . .
read full review

Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth by Michael
Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth is a childish, light hearted book. It is about Prez Mellows, a child from temporary. Prez is being looked after by th . . .
read full review

Salt to the Sea by Michael
Salt to the Sea is all about refugees in 1945 fleeing from the Russian troops invading Germany. There are four perspectives and they all seem to have . . .
read full review

The Smell of Other People's Houses by William
Incredibly gripping beginning. However, loses its appeal in the middle and the end were it just turns into a pretty average book. It is all about 4 pe . . .
read full review

Salt to the Sea by Arthur
Salt to the Sea is told during WW2 and is about different people from different backgrounds trying to reach freedom by boarding a ship. The story real . . .
read full review

The Stars at Oktober Bend by Noah
The stars at oktober bend is a very interesting book that tells the tale of a girl who underwent a brain operation, Alice Nightingale, and of a child . . .
read full review

Railhead by Benedict
Railhead is a story about all sorts of things. It is set in a time in the future where artificial intelligence has evolved far enough to bring humanit . . .
read full review

Railhead by Thomas
I really enjoyed this book. I like that it was set in a world that moved from our planet into a world with many different planets all connected by K-g . . .
read full review

Wolf Hollow by Rohan
This was an excellent book, the plot was amazing and involved some of the problems faced in life today. Although the book was set in the 1940s, there . . .
read full review


Which book on the shortlist has the cover that appeals to you the most?

Beck
7% (5 votes)

Rail Head
47% (35 votes)

The Stars at Oktober Bend
5% (4 votes)

The Smell of Other People's Houses
3% (2 votes)

Salt to the Sea
7% (5 votes)

Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth
12% (9 votes)

Wolf Hollow
20% (15 votes)

 
Title: Millions
Author: Frank Cottrell Boyce
Winning Year: 2004

Comedy is blended with real life drama in perfect balance, in this unique story of brothers Damian and Anthony who suddenly have to spend "millions" in seven days before the euro takes over from the pound. A gripping read with an exuberant plot that you
 

 

Chobham Academy Book Group

Chobham Academy Book Group

Chobham Academy Book Group