Shadowing home | Group Leaders Login to edit your group home page    

Cameron, Latimer Arts College

The Smell of Other People's Houses

I found this book incredibly interesting. The use of split personalities and mixture of Alaskan culture. Here is a list of the narrators best to worst in my view:
Alyce
Ruth
Hank
Dora
I dislike Dora as she seems very self centred and selfish. She is not a likable character.
One website said "In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed."
this is a good summary.
And remember if you must smoke, smoke salmon.

Posted on: 20th April 2017 at 12:55 pm

View more reviews by this group
View more reviews for this title

Share this review:

BACK TO OUR GROUP PAGE