Shadowing home | Group Leaders Login to edit your group home page    

Eliana , CoLA Chatterbooks

The Bone Sparrow

My opinion on this marvelous book The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon is that it was touching and moving and it influences the reader to make you grateful for what you have and where you are born. You also see how lucky you are. This a story is about a young boy which is born into a detention centre. His name is Subhi and is a refugee. His mother and sister fled the violence of a distant homeland. Subhi has only ever known life behind the fences. But his world is far bigger than that every night, the magical night sea from his mother's stories brings him gifts. The faraway whales sing to him, and the birds tell their stories. As he grows, his imagination burst beyond the limits of his containment. Honestly, the huge amount of research and knowledge that must have gone into this book is immense. My ignorance and self-belief were well and truly revealed, as I had never heard of the Rohingya people or did I know that the Australian Detention Centers were anything like this. This book is educational and I would recommend it to anyone. This book is Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas with the amount of similarity it is astonishing. In conclusion, this is an emotional book full of heartache pain, gorgeous quotes and coverage of a crisis that does not receive nearly enough credit It's very relevant, especially during recent times where war is easy to find and many children are fleeing from it.3/5 STARS

Posted on: 31st May 2017 at 02:40 pm

View more reviews by this group
View more reviews for this title

Share this review:

BACK TO OUR GROUP PAGE