Latest releases
Releases for 2016 Awards
Releases for 2015 Awards
Releases for 2014 Awards
Releases for 2013 Awards
Releases for 2012 Awards
Releases for 2011 Awards
Releases for 2010 Awards
Releases for 2009 Awards
Releases for 2008 Awards
Releases for 2007 Awards
Releases for Anniversary
Releases for 2006
Releases for 2005
Releases for 2004
Releases for 2003
Releases for 2002

70 Years Celebration



Shirley Hughes has won the 2003 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal for her book 'Ella's Big Chance: A Fairy Tale Retold', it was announced today.

Shirley, one of the UK's best-loved picture book creators won her first Kate Greenaway Medal in 1977 for 'Dogger', now an established classic. That she has now secured the UK's most prestigious award for children's book illustration for the second time, almost three decades later, highlights the enduring quality and appeal of her work, which is familiar to at least two generations of young readers.

Colin Brabazon, Chair of the Kate Greenaway judging panel comments:

"Shirley Hughes continues to produce masterful picture books. 'Ella's Big Chance' impressed in so many ways - a wonderful flowing line, an exceptional sense of composition and a gorgeous use of colour. Up against stiff competition, the combination of outstanding craftsmanship and artistic imagination made this book shine through. It exudes quality".

'Ella's Big Chance' is Shirley Hughes' inventive retelling of Cinderella. The traditional fairy tale is transported into the 1920s, where talented dressmaker Ella slaves over her sewing machine, whilst her stepsisters parade the latest fashions in her father's dress shop. In accordance with tradition, Ella does go to the ball and meets her prince, but this updated classic has a twist in the tale!

The winning book is also a delight for lovers of fashion illustration. All the dresses featured are Shirley Hughes' own designs and were inspired by the great French couturiers of the 1920s such as Doucet, Poiret and Patou.

Shirley Hughes studied at Liverpool School of Art and the Ruskin School of Art in Oxford before embarking on a career as a freelance artist. Her first book as both author and illustrator, 'Lucy and Tom's Day' was published in 1960, since when she has published over 50 picture books. In 1999 she was awarded the OBE for her distinguished services to children's literature.

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal, established in 1956 and named in honour of the distinguished illustrator is awarded for 'outstanding illustration in a book for children and young people'. Sister award to the CILIP Carnegie Medal, it is judged by an expert panel of children's librarians, and follows the same unique process of nomination, and judging. Since the bequest left in 2000 by children's book and illustration collector, Colin Mears, the winner receives a cheque for 5000 in addition to the coveted medal.

The full shortlist for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2003 was:

ANTHONY BROWNE The Shape Game (Doubleday)

ALEXIS DEACON Beegu (Hutchinson)

DEBI GLIORI Always and Forever (Doubleday)

MINI GREY The Pea and the Princess (Cape)

SHIRLEY HUGHES Ella's Big Chance (Bodley Head)

DAVE McKEAN The Wolves in the Walls (Bloomsbury)

BEE WILLEY Bob Robber and Dancing Jane (Cape)

CHRIS WORMELL Two Frogs (Cape)