Geraldine McCaughrean
Where the World Ends

Usborne Publishing (11+)

9781474921145 (hardback)

Every time a lad came fowling on the St Kilda stacs, he went home less of a boy and more of a man. If he went home at all, that is...

In the summer of 1727, a group of men and boys are put ashore on a remote sea stac to harvest birds for food. No one returns to collect them. Why? Surely nothing but the end of the world can explain why they have been abandoned to endure storms, starvation and terror. And how can they survive, housed in stone and imprisoned on every side by the ocean?

Based on a true story, McCaughrean masterfully takes the reader on a dark, atmospheric and incredibly gripping journey. Written in an historically appropriate, straightforward and yet poetic style, the unforgiving landscape and the struggle to survive within it, are evocatively portrayed. The interaction and relationships between the highly memorable individual characters are believable and beautifully written and while they are completely of their time and of their remote community, they resonate with contemporary readers and Quill, the main hero, is particularly appealing. A haunting, immersive and unforgettable reading experience.


Geraldine McCaughrean is a multi-award-winning children’s author. She has now been shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal eight times, and has won once before with A Pack of Lies in 1988.  She has won the Whitbread Children's Book Award three times, the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, the Smarties Bronze Award (four times) and the Blue Peter Book of the Year Award. In 2005 she was chosen from over 100 other authors to write the official sequel to J. M. Barrie's Peter Pan: Peter Pan in Scarlet (2016). She lives in Berkshire.

Back to The CILIP Carnegie Medal Shortlist for 2018